Seven Deadly Sins through film

Thinking Faith, the online journal of the British Jesuits, is taking a unique look at the 'Seven Deadly Sins' through the medium of film this Lent.  The series starts today (Monday 20 February) with an article from ethicist, Nicholas Austin SJ.  He starts by considering the 1995 thriller, Seven and a historical take on the seven deadly sins. 

The weekly series will continue on Ash Wednesday with seven further articles to follow, each using an iconic film to illustrate how one of the sins is encountered in our world and our experience, if we don't recognise the sin as a theological reality.

The Seven Deadly Sins is a classification of vices that has been used since early Christian times to educate and instruct Christians concerning fallen humanity's tendency to sin.  The sins are usually given as wrath, greed, sloth, pride, lust, envy, and gluttony.

Visit for these and many more articles and film reviews.

Tags: Seven Deadly Sins through film

We Need Your Support

ICN aims to provide speedy and accurate news coverage of all subjects of interest to Catholics and the wider Christian community. As our audience increases - so do our costs. We need your help to continue this work.

Please support our journalism by donating today.