Pope chooses 31 new cardinals

 Pope John Paul II named 30 new cardinals on Sunday. He also designated a 31st cardinal but did not name him. That man was named 'in pectore' - a term used for prelates in a country where the church is oppressed. The Pope read the list out from his apartment window overlooking St Peter's Square, to pilgrims gathered for his traditional Sunday greeting. Vatican City - along with most of Italy - was without power due to a massive blackout, but his voice was amplified with a backup generator provided by RAI state television. The new cardinals, who will be officially appointed at the consistory next month, are: Msgr Jean-Louis Tauran, France, Vatican foreign minister Msgr Renato Martino, Italy, President of the Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace Msgr Francesco Marchisano, Italy, Archpriest of St Peter's Basilica Msgr Julian Herranz, Spain, head of the Vatican Office of Legislative Texts Msgr Javier Lozano Barragan, Mexico, head of Vatican office of Health Care Msgr Stephen Fumio Hamao, Japan, head of Vatican office of Migrants Msgr Attilio Nicora, Italy, head of the Administration of Patrimony of the Holy See Msgr Angelo Scola, Italy, Patriarch of Venice Msgr Anthony Olubunmi Okogie, Nigeria, Archbishop of Lagos Msgr Bernard Panafieu, France, Archbishop of Marseille Msgr Gabriel Zubeir Wako, Sudan, Archbishop of Khartoum Msgr Carlos Amigo Vallejo, Spain, Archbishop of Seville Msgr Justin Rigali, United States, Archbishop of Philadelphia Msgr Keith Michael Patrick O'Brien, Scotland, Archbishop of St Andrews and Edinburgh Msgr Eusebio Oscar Scheid, Brazil, Archbishop of Rio de Janeiro Msgr Ennio Antonelli, Italy, Archbishop of Florence Msgr Tarcisco Bertone, Italy, Archbishop of Genoa Msgr Peter Kodwo Appiah Turkson, Ghana, Archbishop of Cape Coast Msgr Telesphore Placidus Toppo, India, Archbishop of Ranchi Msgr George Pell, Australia, Archbishop of Sydney Msgr Josip Bozanic, Croatia, Archbishop of Zagreb Msgr Jean-Baptiste Pham Minh Man, Vietnam, Archbishop of Ho Chi Minh City Msgr Rodolfo Quezada Toruno, Guatemala, Archbishop of Guatemala Msgr Philippe Barbarin, France, Archbishop of Lyon Msgr Peter Erdo, Hungary, Archbishop of Esztergom-Budapest Msgr Marc Ouellet, Canada, Archbishop of Quebec The Rev George Cottier, Switzerland, the Pope's personal theologian Msgr Gustaaf Joos, Belgium The Rev Thomas Spidlik, Czech Republic The Rev Stanislaw Nagy, Poland

Share this story