Five new saints to be canonised as Synod ends

 This coming Sunday, World Mission Day, the Holy Father will preside at a Eucharistic concelebration in St Peter's Square with the Synod Fathers for the conclusion of the Synod of Bishops. During the ceremony, the Pope will canonise five Blesseds. The names of the future saints are: Jozef Bilczewski, archbishop of Lviv of the Latins (1860 - 1923); Gaetano Catanoso, priest, founder of the Congregation of the Veronica Sisters of the Holy Countenance (1879 - 1963); Zygmunt Gorazdowski, priest, founder of the Congregation of the Sisters of St Joseph (1845 - 1920); Alberto Hurtado Cruchaga, priest of the Society of Jesus (1901 - 1952); and Felice da Nicosia, of the Friars Minor Capuchin (1715 - 1787). A note from the Holy Father issued by the Vatican reads: "On this Sunday, which closes the Year of the Eucharist and in which five new saints are proclaimed, we are invited to make the Eucharist ever more the summit and the source of the life and mission of the Church, and to be witnesses to the Gospel, even unto the ends of the earth." Source: VIS

Share this story