Pope to canonize six new Saints in October

Blessed Mary McKillop

Blessed Mary McKillop

At 11am today, the Holy Father announced the forthcoming canonisation of six new Blesseds, including Mary MacKillop, who will be Australia's first Saint.  The names are:

- Stanislao Soltys, called Kazimierczyk, Polish professed religious of the Order of Canons Regular Lateranense (1433-1489).

- Andre Bessette (ne Alfred), Canadian professed religious of the Congregation of the Holy Cross (1845-1937).

- Candida Maria de Jesus Cipitria y Barriola (nee Juana Josefa), Spanish founder of the Congregation of the Daughters of Jesus (1845-1912).

- Mary of the Cross MacKillop (nee Mary Helen), Australian foundress of the Sisters of St Joseph of the Sacred Heart (1842-1909).

- Giulia Salzano, Italian foundress of the Congregation of Sisters Catechists of the Sacred Heart (1846-1929).

- Battista da Varano (nee Camilla), professed nun of the Order of Poor Clares and foundress of the monastery of St. Clare in the Italian town of Camerino (1458-1524).

At the end of the meeting, the Pope announced that the canonisation ceremony will take place on 17 October.

Source: VIS

Share this story