Faith and community leaders in New Year's honours list

 The following faith and community leaders, clergy and laypeople in the UK were among those awarded in the 2004 New Year honours list. OMG (Order of St Michael and St George) Julian Filochowski, OBE. Lately director, Catholic Agency for Overseas Development. RVO (Royal Victorian Order) John Scott. Organist and director of Music, St Paul's Cathedral. MVO Mrs Pamela Ann Hopes. Secretary to the Anglican Dean of Windsor. DBE Rabbi Julia Babette Sarah Neuberger. Chief executive, King's Fund. For services to the NHS and other Public Bodies. The Very Rev John Dunlop. Minister, Rosemary Presbyterian Church, Belfast. For services to the community in Northern Ireland. The Very Rev Graham Forbes. Provost, St Mary's Cathedral, Edinburgh. For services to Public Life in Scotland. Anthony John Sadler. Archbishops' secretary for Appointments. For services to the Church of England. OBE Sidney Lawrence Shipton. For services to the Jewish Community and Inter Faith Relations. Gerard Armstrong. Teacher, St Michael's Roman Catholic Voluntary Aided Comprehensive School, Billingham, Stockton-on-Tees. For services to Education. The Rev Stephen John Chalke. For services to Social Exclusion through the charities Oasis Trust and Parentalk. Mrs Marie Teresa Cherry. For services to the St Bernadette Club and to the community in Newcastle upon Tyne. Brian Golding. Volunteer Sports Instructor, St Gregory's Roman Catholic Primary School, Workington, Cumbria. For services to Education. Peter Hobley. Voluntary Teacher, St Mary's Roman Catholic Primary School, Hammersmith and Dog Kennel Hill Primary School, East Dulwich, London. For services to Education. The Rev Christopher Robert Johnson. Lately Chair of Governors, John Baskeyfield Church of England School, Burslem, Staffordshire. For services to Education. Ruth Margaret Eleanor McCartney. Director of Music, Methodist College, Belfast. For services to Education. Mrs Beverley Anne Thomas. Headteacher, St Francis Roman Catholic Infant School, Cardiff. For services to Education. Mrs Joan Trowsdale. Teacher, Parish Church School, Skipton, North Yorkshire. For services to Education. The Rev Raymond Williams. Project manager, Bethel Community College and manager, Neighbourhood Support Fund. For services to Young People in Manchester and Salford.

Share this story