Independent Catholic News logo Welcome Visitor
Friday, March 24, 2017
Elections at Bishops' Conference
Comment Email Print
 The Catholic Bishops' Conference of England and Wales, meeting in Leeds this week, has elected Archbishop Cormac Murphy-O'Connor of Westminster as its new president. He succeeds Archbishop Michael Bowen of Southwark, who became president following the death of Cardinal Hume in July 1999. The bishops also re-elected Archbishop Patrick Kelly of Liverpool as vice-president. Following his election, Archbishop Murphy-O'Connor stood down as chairman of the Department of Mission and Unity. Bishop Crispian Hollis of Portsmouth was elected in his place. The bishops also elected Abbot Mark Jabale OSB, Coadjutor Bishop-Elect of Menevia, as new chairman of the Department of Christian Life and Worship, to succeed Bishop John Brewer who died in June this year.
Share:  Bookmark and Share
Tags: None

Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: