Westminster announces new parish appointments

Source: Archbishops House

Monsignor John Arnold, Vicar General, has just released details of the new parish appointments for the Diocese of Westminster this afternoon. Mgr Arnold said: "I am delighted to be able to release, on behalf of Cardinal Murphy-O'Connor, details of parish and other appointments for Westminster Diocese. "In this round of appointments we have been fortunate to have three new additions - Jim Byrne, who was ordained this month, takes up his first parish position as assistant at Wood Green while Michael Dunne and Philip Dyer Perry, who have themselves only recently been ordained Deacons, will be serving in Chiswick and Watford respectively. We wish them every success in their new roles and will keep them in our prayers. "Westminster has been fortunate for many years in that we have been able to assist the wider Church by sending priests to perform roles outside the normal parish work of the Diocese. There are some of particular note in this round of appointments. Fr Vincent Brady, who served as Cardinal Hume's secretary for many years, is to become Private Secretary to the Apostolic Nuncio, Archbishop Puente, and Fr John Whooley will be travelling to Istanbul to undertake ecumenical work. "There have been changes too at the Cathedral. Fr Michael O'Boy, becomes the new Cathedral Sub-Adminstrator. This role has been performed with much success by Fr Richard Andrew, who now takes up his own parish in Enfield. Fr Michael has already had a year at the Cathedral and I know he will approach the new challenges of this position with real enthusiasm." Parish Priests Canon Eddie Matthews (Brook Green) - Bishop's Stortford Canon Desmond Sheehan (Whetstone) - Tring Canon Matt Kennelly (Upper Holloway) - Dollis Hill Fr Perry Sykes (Dollis Hill) - Kensington Fr Richard Andrew (Cathedral) - Enfield Fr Joe Ryan (Sabbatical) - West Green Fr Philip Law (Sabbatical) - Whetstone Fr Howard James (Willesden) - Antigua Diocese Fr Donald Graham (Stonebridge Park) - Bow Fr David Irwin (Holloway) - Sabbatical Fr Norman Wrigley (Carmel) - Baldock Fr Kevin McDevitt (Kensal Rise) - Upper Holloway Fr Paschal Ryan (Heathrow) - Cranford and Heathrow Airport Fr Terry Tastard (Hemel Hempstead Boxmoor) - Brook Green Fr Tom Forde (Kentish Town Administrator) - Kentish Town Fr Stephen Willis (Acton East) - Willesden and Pastoral oversight for Acton East Other Appointments Fr Vincent Brady (Kensington) - Nunciature Private Secretary Fr Michael O'Boy - Cathedral Sub-Administrator Fr John Whooley (Bow) - Ecumenical Work (Istanbul) Fr Nicholas Schofield - Willesden Fr Jim Byrne - Wood Green Deacon Philip Dyer Perry - Watford Deacon Michael Dunne - Chiswick

Share this story