Independent Catholic News logo Welcome Visitor
Friday, March 31, 2017
New religious community officially recognised
Comment Email Print
 The Community of the Beatitudes is to be officially recognized by the the Pontifical Council for the Laity on 31 January. Founded in France in 1974 by Ephraim Croissant with his wife, Josette and another couple, the community is part of the Catholic charismatic renewal movement. Members are lay people, consecrated individuals and priests and families. More than 1,500 brothers and sisters live in community in 32 countries around the world. There are 46 houses in Europe, 11 in Africa, seven in Asia, three in Latin America, three in North America, two in Oceania, and three in the Middle East. They are supported by an allied community known as the "Family of the Beatitudes." The communities follow a life of contemplative prayer and missionary life inspired by Carmelite spirituality and the charism of St Thérèse of Lisieux. In England they are especially known for their work with Youth 2000. For more information visit their website at:
Share:  Bookmark and Share
Tags: None

Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: