Independent Catholic News logo Welcome Visitor
Monday, February 27, 2017
European bishops to discuss how war wil affect EU
Comment Email Print
 The work of the European Convention and the implications for the European Union of the war in Iraq will be the principal themes of the Spring Plenary Meeting of the Commission of the Bishops' Conferences of the European Community (COMECE) in Brussels this Thursday and Friday. During their twice-yearly Plenary Meeting, the Bishops of COMECE will examine the international situation and its possible consequences for the efforts of the European Convention to draft a Constitutional Treaty for the European Union. They will also review recent developments regarding the Churches' proposals to the Convention. The Bishops will discuss these issues with the following invited guests: - Mr Enrique BARÓN CRESPO MEP, Leader of Party of European Socialists Group in the European Parliament; - Mr Elmar BROK MEP, Chairman of the European Parliament Committee on Foreign Affairs and Co-ordinator of the European People's Party Group in the European Convention; - Mr Jean-Luc DEHAENE, Vice-President of the European Convention; - Ms Leslie LEBL, Minister-Counsellor for Political Affairs, United States Mission to the European Union; - Mr John PALMER, Political Director of the European Policy Centre (Brussels); - Rev Prof Peter SERRACINO INGLOTT, Delegate of the Government of Malta to the European Convention. COMECE is a commission of the Catholic Bishops' Conferences of the member states of the European Union. The Bishops' Conferences of the Czech Republic, Hungary, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia and Switzerland are associate members. The following bishops will participate in the Plenary Meeting on behalf of their Bishops' Conferences: Bishop Josef Homeyer (Germany) ­ COMECE President; Bishop Adrianus van Luyn (Netherlands) ­ COMECE Vice-President; Bishop John Crowley (England & Wales); Bishop Teodoro De Faria (Portugal); Bishop Jozef De Kesel (Belgium); Bishop Joseph Duffy (Ireland); Bishop Egon Kapellari (Austria); Bishop William Kenney (Scandinavia); Bishop Giuseppe Merisi (Italy); Bishop John Mone (Scotland); Archbishop Hippolyte Simon (France); Archbishop Elias Yanes Álvarez (Spain); Bishop Amédée Grab (Switzerland) ­ President of CCEE; Bishop Václav Mal¦ (Czech Republic); Archbishop Henryk Muszynski (Poland); Bishop Frantisek Rabek (Slovakia); Bishop Antón Stres (Slovenia); Bishop András Veres (Hungary); Rev. Gintaras Grusas (Lithuania); Rev. Vanni Xuereb (Malta).
Share:  Bookmark and Share
Tags: None

Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: