Independent Catholic News logo Welcome Visitor
Saturday, March 25, 2017
Pope to receive European peace prize
Comment Email Print
¬†Tomorrow, Pope John Paul II will be awarded the Charlemagne Prize - one of the highest European honours. The International Charlemagne Prize is given in recognition of services to European peace and unity. It was established by the City of Aachen in West Germany in 1949 - at a time when the city was in ruins after being almost detroyed in the Second World War. Previous winners include Konrad Adenauer, Winston Churchill, George Marshall, who drew up a rescue scheme for post-war Europe, Sir Edward Heath, Lord Jenkins, Henry Kissinger, Helmut Kohl, Vaclav Havel, Tony Blair in 1999, Bill Clinton in 2000, and the President of the European Convention Valťry Giscard d'Estaing in last year.
Share:  Bookmark and Share
Tags: None

Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: